One Band to Rule them all – Nike FuelBand+ vs. Fitbit Flex


Background:

  • I had the Fitbit Flex for a few months. But am not that satisfied with it. Is Nike FuelBand+ any better ? Plan to find out, by wearing them both for a week or two. Am tracking a few factors, pl suggest more …

IMG_1557

Summary:

  • The Good
    • The style & form factor of Nike FuleBand +
      • I am sorry guys, Fitbit is ugly ;o(
    • Fitbit sends you e-mail when the battery is low ! Good work guys
    • Hours won feature of Nike+
      • Good concept. Basically, it wants to you to move periodically
    • Fitbit is a lot lighter than Nike+
  • The Bad
    • Nike Fuel, while a good concept, is a black box. Couldn’t internalize it
    • Hours won notification of Nike+ is useless. It shows on the band’s display, but I miss it most of the time. Others notice the scrolling display !
  • The Ugly
    • The metrics like steps et al from both bands are so different that they can’t be compared
    • Fitbit is maturing. They add more devices in a short span and there is a fundamental difference between the versions. Would have been good if they have an upgrade plan
    • Tracking sleep on both are not that useful

Band Log:

  • Stardate  91454.39 Day 1 : Both devices fully charged
  • Stardate 91461.40 Day 3 : Have been wearing both devices for 3 days. Updating the comparison.
  • Stardate : Updated Summary above.

Comparison: (I will start filling-in in as I go along):

  • Aesthetics – Fashion vs. Functionality:

    • Of course, Fuelband + is a lot good looking.
    • Fitbit should definitely change it’s looks. 
  • Dashboard:

    • First cut, Fitbit looks better, may be because I am use to it.
    • Day 3: Am used to Nike+ dashboard as well. The Nike+ dashboard on iPhone 5S looks very functional
  • Track:

    • Nike has only one main trackable feature NikeFuel against a goal.
    • Fitbit has multiple features – each one with it’s own goals
    • Two Screens after Day 1 below
    • Day-01-fb Day-01-n
    • Nike
      • Nike Fuel Graph : My Nike Fuel goal is 2500. Haven’t yet figured out how it is calculated
      • Hours Won is interesting. Keeps you moving
      • Steps, Calories – Informational. But they are different for the devices.
    • Fitbit
      • Very Active Minutes – 30 min is my goal. Good metric to track
      • Distance, Steps, Calories – Normal metrics
  • Gamification

    • Both devices have badges, trophies, buddy system (friends, groups). I haven’t explored them yet.
    • May be I will buddy with a turtle and feel good ;o)

  • Inactivity

    • Fitbit does nothing except log it
    • Nike has an alert mechanism. Let us see if it works
  • Accuracy:

    • I will jot down counters from both devices. Let us see how they stack up
    • Here are the screen shots for 2 days. I took the shots at the same time.
    • The devices do not agree at all. I think Fitbit is far off on the plus side while Nike might be more closer.
      • This was my first concern with Fitbit and I had contacted their support. Didn’t get a satisfactory response. The support folks are very good, but I think this i a technical fault.
    • Day-02-fb  Day-02-n
    • Day-03-fb  Day-03-n
  • Sleep

    • Fitbit’s sleep tracking is a little awkward. You need to log time went to bed & time woke up. As far as I can tell, if you miss one day it is gone
    • Nike has the session feature, I haven’t yet tested it
  • Battery Life and ease of charging:

    • Fitbit sends an e-mail when the battery is low. Very cute and useful.
    • Let us see what Nike Fuelband+ has in store for us
  • Conclusions after 3 days

    • I think I will go with Nike+
      • Nike is more mature in many ways
      • Nike Fuel is a better motivation than FitBit
      • Overall Nike has a better form factor & a better app
      • Fitbit has better counters & goals for each metric. But they are not cohesive
      • Tracking sleep, while kludgy, is better with Fitbit ! (I never thought I will say this ;o))
      • Fitbit has the premium subscription ($50/yr) that gives more analytics.
        • But am not sure it is worth the price. I think it is an overkill.
        • And Nike has the analytics feature in the base product. Of course, Nike might add a paid feature set
      • Fitbit Flex lacks the display
        • I bought the Fitbit Flex and they have the Fitbit Force. Came out within 3-4 months after they introduced the Flex. I think they should have provided an upgrade path
        • I think Fitbit need at least couple more product revs to add a better display
  • Not so fast !

    • 11/11/13 : Nike+ FuelBand crashed ! I get an page full of error when I connect it – even the Nike web site is crashing ! Looks like the Fuelband crashes the Nikeplus site !
    • NikeError
    • I couldn’t fond a way to report this to Nike. Finally send them a mail via their site & twitter
    • I also contacted the Fitbit guys to see if I can swap out the flex for their force. They released Flex too soon.
    • Let us see how the response is from both the companies …
    • 11/11/13 : Night
      • Heard from both. So support is good from Nike and Fitbit.
      • Nike’s twitter support came back. Mail via web site is stuck somewhere
      • Fitbit (via e-mail) politely refused to swap my Flex for Force.
        • I understand – I bought the device 5 months ago.
      • Nike Plus web site is up; my FuelBand Plus doesn’t crash the site anymore
      • Fuelband SE got reset & reinitialized. It is up & running (Unfortunately we can’t say the same about me ;o( I am static & typing)
      • One good side effect – In the process I discovered where Nike has the manual for FuelBand SE. The links are not that obvious. 
Leave a Reply

