8 thoughts on “A Simple Minded Cloud Reference Architecture – Part II

  1. Pingback: A Simple Minded Cloud Reference Architecture « My missives

  2. Pingback: Does Cloud API matter ? « My missives

  3. Working on a similar front – I see where you’re going and why you’ve gotten here (although I’m still figuring out the billiards balls!!). Conceptually I think orchestration, automation, provision and configuration management are a more concrete part of the stack, but I understand the dilemmas of how to depict it! How did you make out, were there future revisions? Did this work well for you?

    • Chris,
      Thanks for the comment. Yep, showing a set of complex interrelationships is always challenging. I have been using this diagram and folks do get it. Of course, as is the case of big companies, there are many such diagrams floating around.
      One important point – it all depends on the audience. For the management, need to have a less busy version and for the engineers, one can have a version with more details (on the layers they are interested in, for example orchestration) with examples of products …
      Cheers

      • Chris,
        Forgot to add, the billiard balls are there just to help focus folks on specific aspects and use it as a progression in explaining the diagram – start with 1 and move downwards …

  4. I don’t even understand how I stopped up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you might be
    however definitely you’re going to a well-known blogger should you are not already. Cheers!

Leave a comment